Nuclear Theory@NSD, LBL



Dan Kasen won the 2020 Lawrence Award from DOE

Department of Energy (DOE) announced the 2020 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award. Among the eight recipients is our Dan Kasen. Big congratulations to Dan!

Honored for his “outstanding achievements in nuclear astrophysics and scientific computing, advancing both theory and high performance computations and our understanding of the nuclear physics involved in the birth and death of compact objects (white dwarfs, neutron stars, and black holes) and the stellar explosions involving them (supernovae and compact object mergers).” Specifically, Kasen is recognized for development of state-­of-­the-­art simulations of astrophysical phenomena, including developing the SEDONA code, prediction and modeling of kilonova, and the electromagnetic counterparts to the gravitational wave signals from neutron­star mergers.

A multi-institutional study led by Wayne State University physicists and computer scientists will continue with a $4 million renewal grant from the National Science Foundation. This includes Xin-Nian Wang and Volker Koch, plus our RNC colleagues: Barbara Jacak, Peter Jacobs.

Jason's paper ranked #14 in Scientific Reports' top list of downloads in 2019

Jason's paper on quantum annealing in Scientific Reports (Nature) was ranked #14 in the top list of the most downloads in Scientific Reports in 2019. Congratulations to Jason.

UC Berkeley-based center will bring together researchers from 13 institutions, including NSD nuclear theory program's Dan Kasen and Wick Haxton. The center will focus on Neutron Star Modeling in ‘Gravitational Wave Era’.


We are hosting the POETIC 2019, the Ninth International Conference on the ‘Physics Opportunities at an ElecTron-Ion Collider' at Berkeley, from September 16 to 21. Please check the conference website for details:

Double strikes at PRL

Theory investigation of jet quenching in heavy ion collisions has a long history at LBNL. It is still a hot topic! In a recent issue of Physical Review Letters, LBNL theory group published two papers consecutively. Congratulations to Felix, Long-Gang, Ya-Yun, Xin-Nian!

Bayesian Extraction of Jet Energy Loss Distributions in Heavy-Ion Collisions, Yayun He, Long-Gang Pang, and Xin-Nian Wang, Phys. Rev. Lett. 122, 252302 (2019) – Published 27 June 2019

Factorization of Jet Cross Sections in Heavy-Ion Collisions, Jian-Wei Qiu, Felix Ringer, Nobuo Sato, and Pia Zurita, Phys. Rev. Lett. 122, 252301 (2019) – Published 24 June 2019

More details can be found at the research highlights.

Dan Kasen won the 2019 Rossi Prize

The High-Energy Astrophysics Division (HEAD) of the American Astronomical Society has selected the winners for the 2019 Rossi Prize: Brian Metzger of Columbia University and Daniel Kasen of the University of California at Berkeley for their theoretical predictions of electromagnetic emission from radioactive nuclei produced in neutron star mergers. These predictions were confirmed by observations of the 2017 neutron star merger gravitational wave event, providing the first compelling evidence for the astrophysical site of rapid neutron capture nucleosynthesis.

Dan Kasen's former student Jennifer Barnes, now at Columbia University, has been awarded the 2019 HEAD Dissertation prize for her dissertation entitled "Radiation Transport Modeling of Kilonovae and Broad-Lined Ic Supernovae." This work also involves gravitational waves. It established the radiative signatures of mergers between two neutron stars or a neutron star and black hole, as well as the radiative signatures of jet-driven supernovae produced by collapsing massive stars.